Feet, don’t fail me now!

I guess you could say I’m “all in” when it comes to trying to run 50 half marathons in 50 states.  My original goal was to run 50 races (any length) in 50 states, but then I found the 50 States Half Marathon Club and the Half Fanatics, and I changed my goal!  Unfortunately, that means I am going to have to re-run a couple states but hey, that just means more vacations!

I admit I am an impatient person.  When I start something, I want to get it done.  Running 50 half marathons in 50 states is not easy to do quickly but, starting at my late age, I worry about finishing the task.  I’m trying to convince myself that finishing will be so much sweeter if I have taken the time to enjoy the journey.  A lot of goal runners enter races in different states on consecutive days, even up to 7!  I give them a lot of credit and I guess that would be a good way to cross off 7 states, but I don’t think I would feel the whole half marathon spirit and would almost feel like I was cheating myself because I surely would not be doing any running in some of those races.

So now I think I have the right mindset, but what about the rest of me?  Can my 50+ body that just started running three years ago withstand all this running?  Honestly, I don’t know.  I certainly hope so, but I’ve already had some injuries and my podiatrist calls my feet “deformed from the trauma of running.”  Yikes!  At least he said to keep going until I can’t.  But I wonder when that will be…

5 responses to “Feet, don’t fail me now!

  1. Thanks for stopping by my blog! I’m impressed with you goal to run all 50 states! I see your running the Fairfield Half — me too! It’ll be my third time. It’s so awesome you’re taking on the 50 state challenge!

    • I LOVE beach races, and my daughter who lives in NYC is running too! My sister from Virginia is doing the 5k. Hope it’s not too hilly, I just did Missouri and it was a monster!

      • It’s a little hilly, but manageable. There’s one shortish steep hill you go over twice at miles 3&9 that can be tough. The last three miles are a nice downhill then 2.5 flatflatflat miles. It can be pretty hot, although usually there’s hoses and sprinklers to take advantage of. It’s a nice race. The beach finish is pretty special. I hope you enjoy it!

      • Thanks – hope you have a great race too!

  2. Hey Linda….it’s Ron from ShooRuns. Could you shoot me an email @ shooruns@gmail.com. If you would be interesed I’d like to interview you for a website I started about runners our age. Thanks.

Leave a comment