Recovery and Racing

wpid-2015-10-19-09.04.17.png.png
It’s been about five weeks since my car accident, and four weeks since I started chiropractic treatment. I have to say after being nervous at first, I have really come around to the chiropractor. Dr. Steve understands where I am coming from and where I would like to be. He says my spine is staying pretty aligned so we just have to see what’s triggering the flare ups. I can tell things start to go south when I’m driving because I’m nervous, and then of course at work because I am terrible at leaving my desk. I really have to work on that as well as how my arms are positioned when typing. Dr. Steve wants my arms fully supported, where I am old (old old) school with my wrists hanging off the keyboard. I am committed to getting better so I am taking all of this to heart and working hard.
One of the toughest things has been the instruction that ice, not heat, should be my best friend. Me, who sleeps with a heating pad on full blast, and visits the steam room, sauna and/or whirlpool as often as possible. Apparently ice is better for inflammation, and heat is better in moderation. I’m not giving up my heat, but I have added a ice packs which I admit certainly are soothing.
I have been completing my races as were scheduled way before the car accident. A couple weeks ago I met my sister in St. Paul, Minnesota for the Twin Cities in Motion Loony Challenge. The schedule was a 10k immediately followed by a 5k on Saturday, and the famous 10 mile run from Minneapolis to St. Paul on Sunday. I was pretty nervous to run that many miles in one weekend but it ended up being a huge success. I wanted to keep going after the 10 miles. The only review I can give is if you have the chance to run one of the races offered that weekend, do it! The neighborhoods are beautiful, crowd support is amazing, the races are overall well run, and the medals, shirts, and post-race food are all great. I will be back since I did not run a half marathon, so I cannot check off Minnesota!


Saturday I drove to Detroit where yesterday I ran the International Half Marathon. I had heard so many great things about this race, which crosses over the Ambassador Bridge into Canada, then back through the Detroit Windsor Tunnel to the USA. Thus you actually are running under water part of this race. Of course going back and forth to Canada could cause custom issues so you provide your passport info at registration and then receive instructions to keep your bib visible, and be prepared to possibly be delayed if the agents can’t see your bib or if you are carrying liquids. Liquids are allowed but it’s just something that could cause a delay. I only saw one person detained, actually being arrested, and I assume he didn’t have a bib. The agents did a great job and were cheering and high fiving us as well. There were bottlenecks at the bridge and tunnel which reflect in my mile splits, but overall I am really pleased with my time. Crowd support was great on both sides of the border. I love the medal and the shirt. Post race food included bananas and hummus (not a fan), apples and chocolate milk. Pure Protein also had a booth with protein bars. I guess there were food trucks at the after party, but I was cold so didn’t stay. I actually thought the food provided was kind of light especially since there also was a marathon.


 All in all I’m feeling pretty hopeful. I know I can’t erase arthritis but I’ll do whatever I can to manage it.

3 responses to “Recovery and Racing

  1. I think running through a tunnel would be kind of creepy, but other than that it sounds cool!

    I just started using a chiropractor regularly this year. I do think it helps (heck, even my dogs see a doggie chiropractor — more regularly than me!).

    Sounds like you’re killing it.

  2. I preferred running through the tunnel rather than driving – it’s so narrow! But it was hot in there, especially compared with the very brisk Detroit morning. Do you go to the chiropractor on a regular schedule? Once my treatment from the car accident is over, I am on my own as my insurance doesn’t cover chiropractic. Do your dogs have hip problems?

  3. Interesting about the passport for the race! I’ve heard of this race, but hadn’t thought about needing a passport. Congrats on finishing the race so soon after the accident!

Leave a comment